The Last Breath

When I die, I will let go of a breath I have been holding for a very long time.

The base of my neck will unknot, releasing my fear of error, criticism, and failure.  

My shoulders will relax, letting go of the fear for my children, for their safety, health, and happiness. 

My hands will unclench as I stop clinging to my possessions, those objects of use, nostalgia or monetary value that absorbed my attention, whose loss I daily feared. 

The small of my back will lengthen, unfurl, finally free of the crippling anxiety of rejection.

My brow will smooth out as the unbearable tension of a world plagued with every kind of crisis no longer belongs to me. 

My jaw will loosen, dropping to let fly all the angry, sad words I held on to year after year, the stream of letters soaring harmlessly up to the stars for their amusement, to be remixed as a satire of Life on Earth.

My lips will unpurse, widen into a smile of relief as the last puff of air escapes.

For now, I keep inhaling hope and desire — the inspiration to continue to live fully with every breath I take. 

 

6 responses to “The Last Breath

  1. You put things so well, Elena. :)

  2. Hi Elena, Great to see you’re back again!! Look forward to ‘connecting’ again.

    • I’m sort of back… I still feel like I’m grasping at things to get them in order, and I don’t feel like a reliable blogger right now… or a reliable anything else for that matter… :/

The Tribe is Listening... Add Your Voice to the Conversation!

