New Project?

I had a dear friend over for lunch yesterday and she cooed over my food in her usual, sweet way. She told me I should write a cookbook, and so I ran to print her out a copy of my “Breakfast Cookies” recipe, I guess to prove not only to her but to myself that I actually AM capable of writing a recipe.

Being a stay-at-home mother makes me at times somewhat desperate for acknowledgment that, yes, I COULD be a contributing member of society if these short people would stop yelling at me all day and frying my thoughts before I can even recognize what they are!

I made a list of all my favorite dishes to make last night, and I made notes of the possible stories/topics that could go with each. You see, this cookbook’s gimmick (because I know they all need one) is humor and anecdote – each recipe comes with some tidbits from my life (the interesting bits, certainly) and a couple of laughs.

Can I really pull it off? Could I really get it published? Am I even funny?

As for getting it published, I wondered, what if I used one of those sites where you can buy the e-book? Would it be possible to sell them one by one? Charge maybe 50 cents a piece, have a free sample, then people could buy just the ones they wanted? And once they bought one and laughed (or enjoyed the food!) they might think, hey, one more! And pretty soon, they’d have bought the whole book anyway!?

Here’s my Breakfast Cookie recipe, on the house. Maybe I’m trying to prove myself to you, too…


Breakfast Cookies

Yep, you heard right. Mama says you can eat these bad boys for breakfast. I’d call ‘em “Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner Cookies” but you should probably have a real meal once in a while.

But I say, and no one’s ever argued with me, that if you look at what is in these cookies and compare it with your average breakfast cereal, you can’t nutritionally afford NOT to eat these for breakfast. And midday snack. And of course, dessert. But for heaven’s sake, try to work an apple or banana into your day somewhere.

In case you’re new to healthy food, I’ll run down the list of ingredients and why they are okay for breakfast:

Ingredients:
3 Eggs – Hello! Is there a better breakfast food? Protein, iron, etc. It’s in there.
1½ cups Oats – Oatmeal may be the closest contender to eggs for perfect breakfast
food, and you’re eating them both. Have another cookie.
3 cups Whole Wheat Flour – There’s some serious fiber action for ya. (Feel free to substitute some white flour if you think your kids will get suspicious of the healthy hue your cookies will take on!)
½ to 1 cup of Sunflower Seeds and/or Finely Chopped Nuts – protein, vitamins and
minerals galore. If you use some walnuts, there’s omega-3 right there!
12 oz. package of Chocolate Chips – If you use dark chocolate, you’re talkin’
antioxidants!
1 cup Butter or Margarine – Hey, people put butter on toast. Toast is a breakfast food.
1 tsp. Vanilla – Completely harmless.
½ tsp. Baking Soda – Neither here nor there, nutrition-wise.
1 Tbsp Baking Powder – Doesn’t tip the balance positive or negative.
1½ cups Sugar – Again, have you checked the ingredients in breakfast cereals? Besides,
even the healthiest breakfast can have a donut thrown in, no harm no foul.

How To Put Your Breakfast Together:
1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
2. In a large bowl cream together butter/margarine and sugar.
3. Add eggs & vanilla and beat the heck out of the mixture (see, you’re getting exercise, too.)
4. Combine flour with baking soda and baking powder, then add to the bowl and mix well.
5. Toss in your oats and mix well.
6. Add the chocolate chips and nuts/seeds. Mix.
7. Spoon cookie dough onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake for about 8 to 10 minutes. Makes between 30 and 50 cookies, depending on the size you like. Tell your family it makes 20 so they won’t wonder where all the cookies went by the time they make it into the kitchen.
8. Enjoy! And remember, breakfast is the most important meal of the day, so eat up!

5 responses to “New Project?

  1. this sounds yummy! definitely on my to do list!

  2. I love it! and YES I really do think you should write a cookbook! I’d buy it for sure ;)

  3. Pingback: Healthy Snacks | Wise Way Tribe

The Tribe is Listening... Add Your Voice to the Conversation!

