Kid Connections

Probably only parents with lots of kids make weird lists like this, trying to compare the similarities and differences between their kids. (I guess you’d  need at least two, wouldn’t you?!)

I’ll refer to my kids by their birth order number, to save typing their names over and over.

Here are some of my rambling comparisons:

  • 1 & 2 are from the 20th century, 3, 4, & 5 are from the 21st.
  • 1 & 4 are Tauruses, 2 & 3 are Geminis, poor little 5 hangs out alone in the Libra camp.
  • 1, 2, & 3 were born in Oregon, 4 & 5 were born in North Carolina.
  • 2 & 3 were born at a birthing center, in the same bed, with the same midwife, 6 years apart. 1, 4 & 5 were all born at different hospitals (4 is the only one delivered by an OB instead of a midwife.)
  • 1, 2, & 3 were all born in even years, 4 & 5 were born in odd years.
  • 1, 3 & 5 are girls, 2 & 4 are boys.
  • 2 & 5’s names both start with “G,” the rest are all different.
  • 1, 3 & 4 were all born in May, while 2 has a birthday in June and 5 is in September.
  • 1 was born premature, 2 & 3 were born after their due dates, while 4 & 5 were both induced.
  • 2, 3 & 5 were all born in the same city they were conceived in, but 1 & 4 were conceived in one state then born in another.
  • 1 & 2 were both born in the early morning, 3, 4 & 5 in the evening

I’m not sure why, but when I see two of them hanging out together, their random detail association always seems to come to my mind. It means a lot to me that they be there for each other throughout their lives, so the more connections I can foist upon them, artificial as they may be, the more reassured I am that certainly they will always have tights bonds.

Or maybe I just like lists of random details!

In any case, here’s a photo of me and my fantastic five:

2 responses to “Kid Connections

  1. Gorgeous. Not sure how random ours are…one in Jan, one in April, one in August. All three born at the same hospital. One early, one on time, one late…eldest two with bibilical names, the third with royal ones – unintentional, but there you go. Two born at afternoon tea time one in the evening…I do think of these as I interact with them some days, others I just want to get them out the door on time! ;)

    • So you do that too! Isn’t it funny. It’s like we’re looking at a synopsis of their biography as they walk around the house or something…

The Tribe is Listening... Add Your Voice to the Conversation!

