Trust Your Instinct

“Trust your own instinct.  Your mistakes might as well be your own, instead of someone else’s.”  ~Billy Wilder

This reminds me of the Green Day lyrics from the song, “She:”  “She’s figured out that all her doubts were someone else’s point of view.”

I remember the first time I heard those words I thought, YES!  Screw them, I’m going with my gut.  I’m tired of being fed doubt.

I then proceeded (continued?) to make all kinds of wild mistakes.

But once you’ve been fed the doubt, once you’ve had enough authority figures tell you, “You’re just going to screw that up” or “You’re not certified” or “Here, lemme just do that for you,” it becomes so hard to accept the value in risking an individual approach.  It takes extra courage to ignore the naysayers and insist on participating in your own way.

The temptation to give over a learning opportunity or to turn away from the chance to tread the road less travelled is overwhelming for me.  Because guess what, if I do it some bossy person’s way, or just let them do it themselves, and there’s a mistake?  Then I’m that happy little thing called BLAMELESS!  And in our litigious, gossipy society, isn’t that the best thing of all to be?

But then there’s the part where we’re on our death bed and we’ve lived a spectator, cookie-cutter life, blameless and yet there was no point in our even being alive.  Do you really want the life that flashes before your eyes to be a sitcom rerun?

It takes a lot of quieting to get past the voices in my head shouting that I can’t do something, a lot of paying attention to hear the little voice of my own mind that says, “Hey, wanna try this?  It just might work…”

A lot of courage to face the music if it doesn’t work.

But if I don’t walk my own path… that mistake might be even harder to live with.

6 responses to “Trust Your Instinct

  1. Agreed. How do you over come all those voices in your head though?

    • I wish I knew, Karyn! I think it’s the voice that tells me I will screw things up that is really hard to argue with or ignore. I’ve built up a lot of confidence over the years, but I haven’t silenced that one yet. I just have to think to myself, uh huh, I’ll screw it up but I’m doing it anyway. *sigh*

  2. I’m not sure if it’s personality or a state of mind, but I think being stubborn and keeping a positive outlook at the same time works really well (sounds antagonistic together doesn’t it?)
    It takes time and lots of self control, but I think it is possible to relinquish negative thoughts….helps to fill the head with positive input (books, quotes etc)
    And I just love love love the Nike motto – Just Do It!

    • I like that combination, though, stubbornly positive! I think that’s what you have to do, really, bullheadedly remain hopeful and proactive even in the face of certain doom! 😀 Because when I think about it, there really isn’t any other way to do it. Becoming depressed and defeatist is just a horrible way to live (I should know.)

  3. good share, im enjoying your arguing. 🙂

The Tribe is Listening... Add Your Voice to the Conversation!

