Relaunch

A couple of years ago I tried to start a little business called Semanturgy Communications Services, then I found out I was pregnant and just decided to give up for the time being.  In fact that was when I gave up blogging, quilting and really doing any sort of project for myself.  Now I need to get back into the world financially, and while I’m also looking for a lateral entry teaching gig, this dream business is my backup plan.

My business offers a lot of services, partly because I figure I can get more business that way, and partly because I have so many interests that are all related (communication) that I figure I may as well put them all out there under one umbrella.  Working in the Spanish and French languages, I can do translation, and I also offer tutoring and classes for all ages and levels.  I already have curriculum developed for a beginning adult (or high school age) class, but I have lots of ideas for homeschool classes, preschool classes as well as classes for business and outreach where folks have a specific goal in mind when working in the other language.

For English, I can help with writing and editing or just freelance an article or newsletter myself.

All of these services are based on my passion for language and communication.  When I am working on developing a class, it feels like playing to me.  When I’m translating, I enjoy it so much that I feel like I’m just having fun with a puzzle, and yet I am completely absorbed and giving it my whole attention.  There are few places in the world I’d rather be than surrounded by dictionaries, thesauri, paper, pen, google for historical references, etc.  It’s a little embarrassing to be a language nerd, but maybe I can make it work to my advantage someday.

Of course, I can also see myself pouring this energy into a high school classroom, working to inspire kids to open up whole new worlds for themselves by being able to speak and read a new language.  I admit I’m pretty scared of the politics and bureaucracy, disgusted by the grades and tests, and disheartened by the lack of vision of many administrators.  If it were all about the words and the kids, I’d be in paradise.

So stay tuned to see if my relaunch crashes and burns, gets interrupted by some other job coming along, or ends up soaring into the stratosphere.  And for heaven’s sake, if you have any advice or experience to share, please do so!

5 responses to “Relaunch

  1. Hi Elena,
    Great to see you’re blogging again. (Did you move? Did it go well?)
    This sounds like a great idea. I was a teacher, but the differences between your education system and ours are poles apart so I don’t know how much I can help. Happy to answer any questions if I can and …good luck!

    • Is it because of the testing? 😛 As I mentioned, I am quite put off by the tests and such, but if it’s a chance to teach and make a living, I’m going to give it a try. And meanwhile, I’ll see what kind of freelance opportunities come along! 🙂

  2. Yes yes yes!!! Way to go Elena.
    First thing that I’d recommend you do is get Jack Canfield’s Success Principles and read it through, then work through it (takes time, but you can work your plan at the same time). Then formulate a plan – short term, mid term and long term.
    Try to focus your energies in to what you think the best pay offs will be.
    Don’t do everything all at once. Perhaps start say with the language classes first and develop that well – you might even be able to do virtual language classes.
    It just gives you more focus ( at least that has been my frustration – too many ideas too little time ;))
    I love the fact that you’re not in to testing and exams – but i suppose parents and even students themselves need some sort of yardstick measure as to their competencies and abilities, so maybe not testing per se, but a report/feedback would definitely be useful.
    Just some hurried thoughts…need to get back to work now 🙂 feel free to get in touch if you’ve any questions.

  3. I agree with Li-ling about the Success Principles. I’ve read it once, and have begun the real work. I’ve finished the first section and it feels great.
    (The testing that is done over in your neck of the woods would freak me out too. As long as the pros outweigh the cons…)

  4. Thanks for the suggestions. I trust your advice, but forgive me if right now I see those books as a way for the authors to get their own business started… which I completely respect, but I don’t really have the money to throw at them right now.

    It’s true that I shouldn’t spread myself too thin, but I just don’t think I could get enough gigs with one particular service at this time, so I feel like a good bet is to offer a few different things and then spread the word and see what needs are out there.

The Tribe is Listening... Add Your Voice to the Conversation!

