The Thirsty Fish

“I laugh when I hear that the fish in the water is thirsty.” — Kabir

from Essential Sufism edited by James Fadiman and Robert Frager

Are we not fish surrounded by waves of life energy at all times? Do we not swim in the atmosphere of exactly what we need at every moment? One deep breath gets us where we need to be to take the next step.

At times I feel thirsty, desperate for cool, soothing relief, cut off from the Source of blessing.

Then I catch my reflection in the mirror – a little wave swelling into its own unique form, riding my own path to the shore.

But what’s that holding me up, providing the matter and momentum of my individual wave? The immensity of the ocean. I cannot exist or move without it. This seemingly limitless Source is so much a part of my existence that I forget it’s even there. All I see is a separate wave over there, some up that way, one over yonder, and me here, “by myself.”

I must use a bigger mirror.

I am Water made wave. I thirst only to realize the Connection that always is.

2 responses to “The Thirsty Fish

  1. Enjoyed your post. Like this:”reflection in the mirror – a little wave swelling into its own unique form, riding my own path to the shore.” and “the water made wave.” Nice word craft

The Tribe is Listening... Add Your Voice to the Conversation!

