Good Deed Day

It never ceases to amaze me how everything happens at once.

Yesterday unfolded as a good deed day. I had four different neighbors come to me and ask for my help.

I enjoyed the day immensely. I love knowing that I’m part of a community where people can count on each other for different things big or small that might come up in their lives.

Each small favor I did yesterday was pretty insignificant in the scheme of things, but in the big picture, I think helping out neighbors helps the whole neighborhood, because when you alleviate the sense of isolation that people tend to feel, you draw them out into the community and get them to be a part of it.

If I can do a little thing here or there, it not only shows the person (and most importantly their children) that they can count on others, but it also invokes a sense of obligation to pay it back, not to the specific person who did the favor, but just to whoever might need help. They can’t say, “Well screw everyone, I’m not doing anything cuz I have to handle my own business all by myself.” I have definitely felt this kind of angry isolation before, and it is fairly toxic to everyone.

So when good deed day rolls around for you, remember what an important thing you are doing to build community, and enjoy the opportunity to be part of it all!

The Tribe is Listening... Add Your Voice to the Conversation!

