Death and Taxes

Thankfully I’ve only dealt with the latter today. The former feels like it’s all around me, with these bare trees (can you tell I grew up around evergreens?), brown lawns, frigid air… I want to say I’m ready for spring, but around these parts, that’s tantamount to welcoming the insufferable heat. Not quite there yet. I’ll hang out in the chill barrenness of winter a bit longer.

But the taxes are sorted, anyhow. This e-filing thing is the way to go, I think. I generally DON’T enjoy having machinery and the internet take over my life, but when it comes to red tape, I’m starting to think, bring it on!

For some reason writing with pen on paper is a deliciously satisfying activity, unless that paper has little angry boxes on it and places where I have to sign.

As I imagine the seeds I will plant in my garden soon when winter begins to fade, my thoughts naturally drift to the seeds we will plant with our refund money. What will we grow in our lives this year with the resources we receive? It’s like a fresh game of monopoly all over again, with new opportunities to invest in various areas of our lives.

Very appropriate topic with my new budgeting class beginning tomorrow. I hope that the information and ideas I provide will provide the same jumpstart of resources to make my students’ lives even a little bit better, and to make the year ahead a brighter one.

2 responses to “Death and Taxes

  1. Spoke too soon. Even electronically you will get bitten in the ass, have to bang your head against a wall, and also wish you were dead. I suppose that’s another reason why death and taxes are often mentioned in the same breath.

  2. It’s not like I expect it to be effortless. I put in the time, probably at least a good hour, I followed the directions, did what I was told, etc. It’s not like I want to wave a magic wand. I just want to be able to go through the motions and get a result. I don’t understand why the way has to be fraught with obstacles EVERY SINGLE TIME.

The Tribe is Listening... Add Your Voice to the Conversation!

