My Dying Computer

Can you become fond of a piece of technology? A machine?

As my computer devolves into a dinosaur (it is from 2006, after all), I realize how much I have grown fond of it. Perhaps laptops inspire more loyalty than desktops, because I’ve never quite felt this way before.

Maybe it’s because it’s a Mac. (Let the fist fight begin.)

But it’s bogging down, getting sluggish, telling me there’s no more room on the disk, and just generally being pathetically annoying.

And I find myself feeling sad, as if it were an old, tired dog reaching the end of its usefulness, even as a lazy companion.

I think if I could afford to buy myself a new one, I could let go much easier! 😀

Still, it’s the first time I’ve ever owned a piece of metal & plastic that I can pick up and take with me, containing all my photos, music, documents, contacts, all the bookmarked websites I like to visit… how could one NOT grow attached to such a doo-hickey?

As I struggle with it in its death throes, I simultaneously want to pour money into maintaining it and put it out of its misery. In a violent way, when it’s being particularly slow and incompetent.

Perhaps when my husband realizes how much I will be using his computer when mine finally breathes its last, he will find the money SOMEWHERE to get me off his desk. Fingers crossed!

The Tribe is Listening... Add Your Voice to the Conversation!

