Night Nursing = Cavities?

Baby Girl has two cavities. Of all my five kids, only one other kid has ever had a cavity (knock wood!) and she got it when she was about 6 years old. And this is counting a 19 year old, a 15 year old, a 9 year old, a 4 year old and Baby Girl at 2 and a half years old. So, that’s a lot of years of potential cavities.

When I was about 4 months pregnant with Baby Girl I broke my wrist. I’d also been breastfeeding Hank, who was almost 2 at the time, so I was wondering if maybe Baby Girl didn’t get a whole lot of calcium with that kind of situation.

And like a moron, I asked the dentist his opinion. Nice guy. Friendly, young, approachable, listens intently.

“Oh no,” he assured me. “That wouldn’t have anything to do with it.”

Then he raised an eyebrow. “Did you breastfeed?” After I confirmed this and added, “Still am,” he nodded knowingly.

“It’s those night nursings. I see it all the time in breastfed kids. Very common.”

“Didn’t happen with the other four,” I pointed out.

“They got lucky,” he said.

So, if night nursing causing cavities was a COMMON thing, then wouldn’t FOUR of them have suffered from it, and just the ONE have gotten lucky???

Sounds to me like the others experienced a normal eating/tooth health situation, and poor baby girl got unlucky.

But what the hell do I know.

3 responses to “Night Nursing = Cavities?

  1. My 6yo had two cavities that they found a couple of months ago. The cavities didn’t show up until almost 2 years after we stopped night nursing. It’s the timing that makes the dr say it’s breastfeeding. And it’s always the mother’s fault, don’t ya know? Sheesh.

    For us, the dentist says it was not flossing, which she amended to not flossing well enough when I countered that we have been flossing since she was 3. Can’t win. It’s obviously my fault. 😉
    se.

  2. And the wrist theory makes a lot of sense — why would that be dismissed so easily?!

    • Thanks for your comments, Misti! Isn’t it true that they always blame us? 😦 I shouldn’t have opened my big mouth to engage in speculation, but like I said, dude’s very personable.

      Anywho, I can’t understand why he thinks the broken wrist has NOTHING to do with it. I thought healing a broken bone sucked the calcium out of you? And I weaned Hank at 2 years old because of it, because there just wasn’t enough of me to go around at that point.

      To this day my wrist is messed up because I couldn’t/wouldn’t do the surgery to pin the bone in place, because they don’t want to put you under general anesthesia in the second trimester. Or, I should say, they gave me the option, with a higher risk of potential damage to the baby. My wrist versus my child? Um, yeah, not doing the surgery. I’ll deal.

      Which I am! 🙂

The Tribe is Listening... Add Your Voice to the Conversation!

