Heaven, Hell and True Worship

Not a big fan of carrot and stick religion. “I’ll be good so I don’t burn for eternity!” “I’ll do right because I want to be rewarded someday!”

Grow up.

Be good because it feels great. Do right because it is the best way. Take care of others to see a smile on their faces, or at least to sleep better at night knowing you were the best human you could be.

Cultivate virtue because it leads to beauty, truth and peace. Develop compassion because it leads to happiness, for yourself and those around you.

Open your soul to the divine because what other way is there to live? Beyond reward and punishment, connecting to Spirit is truly being alive.

Oh my Lord, if I worship You from fear of Hell, burn me in Hell; and if I worship You from hope of Paradise, exclude me from Paradise. But if I worship You for Your own sake, do not withhold from me Your Eternal Beauty. — Rabia, from Essential Sufism, edited by James Fadiman & Robert Frager

The Tribe is Listening... Add Your Voice to the Conversation!

