Apple Trees

We went to a local nursery and bought a couple of Gala apple trees, which I planted in front of the house.

I tried to take a picture of them, but they are so spindly and without leaves that they are quite unimpressive and hard to distinguish in a photograph.

I think I probably killed the decorative cherry when I moved it, but it was one of the things Habitat had already planted, and this poor thing had been butchered multiple times so that it is like a big fat trunk with a few thin branches poking off the top. I do hate to kill plants, but I couldn’t just leave this orphaned, deformed thing in the perfect spot for one of the apple trees.

Skimming through advice online for apples, I read that if one doesn’t employ some type of pesticide, one’s yield will be of very poor quality, so at some point I may have to investigate organic types of pest repellants.

If anyone reading this is experienced with apple trees and wants to share a few hints, I’d be most grateful.

Otherwise, think appley thoughts for us, that we might enjoy a decent harvest in a few years.

4 responses to “Apple Trees

  1. I want to plant some apple trees here, too. I look forward to seeing how yours do!

  2. We planted apple and peach trees a few years back. We made a pepper soup from serrano pepper, garlic, onion, and cayenne pepper powder., put that in a spray bottle and…..NO MORE BUGS!

    • Cool, thanks for the heads up! I’ll definitely try that. Is it okay to spray it right on blossoms, fruits, leaves, or whatever? It’s not gonna fry the tree?

The Tribe is Listening... Add Your Voice to the Conversation!

