A Child’s Disappointment

I say child, but she’ll be 20 years old in a couple of months.

After waiting FORVER to find out if she got into the nursing program, she got a notice saying that she is on the alternate list.

At my age, with my level of experience, that isn’t bad news. It isn’t the good news she wanted, but I don’t think she realizes how often people drop out, leave town, take a job, get married, or whatever other life-changing event comes along and poof! you’re in.

I don’t want to get her hopes up again too much by saying all of that. I understand that she feels crushed, and she just wanted to know what the hell is going on in her life. That would be pretty comforting, and I can see having the school say, “Maybe…” again is not at all encouraging. Waiting some more is not at all fun or helpful.

But they didn’t say no, so that’s not completely terrible.

It’s hard to watch her go through all this. I want life for my children to be a satisfying challenge with a happy ending. I know we all learn from heartbreak, disappointment, that when one door closes another one opens, etc. etc.

But this is my baby we’re talking about!

*Sigh*

4 responses to “A Child’s Disappointment

  1. You can’t do their push-ups for them. Mores the pity, some times. In the end, she will make sense of it and get it all in proper perspective. Take care.

  2. A boy becomes an adult three years before his parents think he does, and about two years after he thinks he does~Lewis Hershey obtained from Adulthood Quotes

    • That’s an interesting quote! Even though I’m not a boy, I’m going to ponder how this might have applied to me growing up… Thanks for sharing!

The Tribe is Listening... Add Your Voice to the Conversation!

