Facebook plug

This is why I shouldn’t look at stats.

Yesterday I had 151 hits. WordPress says it links to a Facebook plug, but it won’t show me exactly where. So surely it must be someone I don’t even know, or else it would show up on my Facebook feed?

Anyway, my stats go from around 10 per day to 151. But resulting in only a couple of comments, and those are from 1. A dear fellow blogger who comments all the time and 2. A wonderful blogger on whose blog I just commented yesterday. Absurd.

I hate numbers sometimes. I like people, face to face, talking, sharing, laughing, mulling things over in a communal setting. Ideally over food.

I have come to like math though, don’t get me wrong. I have come to appreciate the poetry of it, the tidy organized reality of how numbers fit together like a puzzle.

But statistics? The thing that makes students cry when forced to study it? The thing that rules our lives, that we beat each other over the head with to prove that we are right and they are stupid?

Not much love there.

I want to be read. I want to be heard, but also to be commented on and challenged. Tell me where my logic fails, tell me how I made you feel, tell me if I have spoken the words you wanted to say or if I am just blowing hot air.

Go on. I can take it.

4 responses to “Facebook plug

  1. I obsessed about the numbers on my music website for years, logging in daily to see what was going on. Why would THAT page suddenly have popped to the top? Why did my six-year-old article on a software program that has since had several new upgrades suddenly get 200 hits?

    That website has been around for about ten years, and it averages around 5,000 visits a month. So imagine my shock when in early 2009, in a single day, it had 7,800 unique visitors. Had I won the Pulitzer Prize and no one told me?

    No, it turned out that a police officer in Texas named Jeffrey Cotton had shot an unarmed black man to death.

    Since that day, I haven’t looked at my stats once. I gave up.

    So, now I have started my new blog as a writer, and it starts all over again. What? Only six hits yesterday? I have 5,000 friends on Facebook, why didn’t they clicked through when I shared my latest post?

    So, yes, there’s no real love in those numbers. But it wasn’t until Officer Jeffrey Cotton provided me with those 7,800 hits that I realized how stupendously meaningless the numbers are.

    • That’s a great story! Thanks for sharing it. Isn’t it funny how random it all is? But it is quite meaningful when we can connect like this, two strangers, but sharing experiences that hold real significance for us. Jean Paul Sartre wrote a book called “Les Mots” (“The Words”) in which he talks about sitting in his father’s home library, reading some old book, and all of a sudden he feels that the author is there with him, looking out the window of the book, so to speak. And then as I’m reading that book, I can all of a sudden feel Sartre there, looking out the page in front of me, and it’s really powerful. Sometimes I feel like we can do this here, to connect beyond space and time in a pretend world called “cyberspace.” And those silly numbers have absolutely nothing to do with it!

      I know what you mean about “friends” not checking out the blog posts… I can get a couple to read it if I link to Facebook, but for some reason not one single member of my family reads it on a regular basis. I guess I’m not as interesting/entertaining as I think I am! 😀

  2. I’ve wondered about that myself at times. Yet, I can post complete goofball nonsense to Facebook (“So, just which part of a kitten is the caboodle?”) and get 100 likes and dozens of comments. Who knows… It apparently has to be vapid or controversial for anyone to care.

    • Perhaps depth is just too much trouble for most people to bother with… If you can get a giggle out of a cute cat picture, why take the time to read something profound for spine-tingling goose bumps… But I choose goose bumps! (Okay, AND giggles, those are good too! 😉 )

The Tribe is Listening... Add Your Voice to the Conversation!

