Starting a Religion

I’ve had people joke with me (I assume) about this. Even my own Dad.

But now reading Jon Krakauer’s “Under the Banner of Heaven,” as he details all the Mormon shenanigans, I think, why not?

What makes other humans special that they get to start a new interpretation of divinity?

Okay, I’m not talking about Buddha or Jesus or Lao Tsu or those sorts of “humans,” who obviously are special. I’m talking about the run-of-the-mill people who have interpreted what the wisest among us have said and extrapolate to impose laws, rules, guidelines. Generally with much prejudice and imbecility.

I think Rule Number One might be “For crying out loud be nice!”

Too obvious?

My daughter will insist that years ago I said Rule Number One was “Keep it in the bowl,” but seriously, that’s for cooking. We might be able to make a metaphor or parable of it and apply it to Life in General, but honestly the profoundly deep secret meaning of it (you might want to jot this down in case I become a prophet later) is “For crying out loud be nice to your poor Mama who has to clean up the floor later and stop whooshing everything on the floor.” So, really, just a corollary to the Rule Number One I previously suggested.

Rule Number Two for cooking was “You can’t have too much butter.” I think we might just keep that one in our religious text verbatim.

4 responses to “Starting a Religion

  1. Well, if L. Ron Hubbard can do it…

  2. Let’s do it! We have the same two rules for cooking – so we must be able to set up a whole religion…just a natural progression!

    • I love that right out of the gate, with just the two of us, we are an international organization! A spiritual community spread across the globe! šŸ˜€

The Tribe is Listening... Add Your Voice to the Conversation!

