The Volcano in my Heart

Okay, now I fully acknowledge that the story I’m about to relate to you is flagrantly insignificant in relation to events that occur around the world on a daily basis.

But part of the reason I’m sharing it is because I feel like these sorts of momentary, insignificant episodes, to which I too often respond badly, are contaminating my life with negativity. I want to let go of the anger in my heart, and not let it erupt in such awful ways, but then things like this happen, and before I know it I’m far too enthusiastically expressing my disapproval.

Remember how completely awesome (and around my childhood home, fairly rare) those cardboard tubes are that hold the wrapping paper? Well, yesterday my husband produced two of them by wrapping up birthday presents for our oldest. These tubes were smaller in diameter than usual and extra thick, rendering them quite sturdy. As a child I would have incorporated them into my play for at least a week, then hoarded it in my closet for years, occasionally pulling them out to use in some new and creative way (I was an only child until I was 13. Which helps explain why all of the sibling conflict I see between my children on a daily basis makes absolutely no sense to me.)

Our youngest, age 2 -1/2, asked me if she could have them.  I said yes. She played with them for about 15 to 20 minutes, even taking them outside, using them like ski poles, looking through them, tapping things, etc. Having a grand time.

At one point after she’d come inside and was still blissfully engaged in tubular play, our 5 year old son comes in. He asks her if he can have one. She, adoring him like a loyal subject does its king, immediately obliged. He proceeded to bash it into walls, chairs, the floor, and within 30 seconds it had broken in half. He abandoned it and asked her for the other one. Without hesitating she handed it over. He begins to bash the second one.

Enter a crazy, psychotic, raving lunatic, AKA their mother. Shrieking like a demon fresh from the underworld, I grab the still intact tube from him and howl about how he had just ruined everything for her.

Later, as I pondered it, of course he’s 5. It’s his personality to destroy everything in sight (PLEASE don’t tell me “He’s a boy” because there are boys who don’t destroy everything and girls who do. So just please don’t even go there. I won’t be able to hear anything else you say if you do because I’ll just figure you’re a genderist who assumes every single thing depends on genitals.)

But at the time, I was reacting to the horror of what I was seeing, the wanton wastefulness! The gratuitous injustice! The unthinkable evil of taking advantage of a person littler than you who worships the ground you walk on!

Absurd, I know. In the grand scheme of waste, injustice and evil, this wouldn’t even be let in the door. The Judge of all Horror would laugh and tell this incident to run along and play.

And why couldn’t I have just walked up calmly and said, “Dude, really? Give her back that one so she can keep playing. You got your share and now it’s destroyed,” or something similarly chill and wise.

If I could just stay up on the mountain in my mind’s eye, where everything appears to fit into the context of reality, and nothing is blown up bigger than it really is… Can a person live like that? And would it help, or would it just generate new problems?

Because I know that leaving my perspective down in the trenches of nitty gritty daily detail, where the bullets fly past my ears and the muddy bloody walls appear to be closing in, turns me into a very angry, overwhelmed individual that I don’t want to be. Down there, I feel like my only recourse is to explode out of the trench, gun blazing. That’s no way to live, and no way to parent.

5 responses to “The Volcano in my Heart

  1. Oh I can so understand this. Yes, I think it is possible as you say to ‘stay on the mountain’ but rather than berating yourself for your initial out-burst, you have already learnt by reflecting on it and how you can do it differently next time.

    I have found that re-living the experience in my head then changing my responses, helps cement it for next time.

    I think it is possible to live in the mindful way that you describe, I have been trying. Whether it generates more problems or not, I think depends again on our responses.

    Good luck, you’re already doing the best that you can!

    • Thanks for the encouragement! I haven’t tried to re-live it and change my response as a meditation, I just hash and rehash my intellectual understanding of things, which results in very slow progress, if any. I will try to mentally put myself back there and see if I can’t “reprogram” myself quicker, somehow. I also feel like each event is just a symptom, and that I need to fix something deeper in myself. New attitude, new practice, new something. More sleep. Less overall stress. Who knows? 🙂 But I do think it helps to talk things out, so I appreciate your thoughts on the subject!

  2. Oh, you’re expecting consciousness and reason to control the rest of your brain? It isn’t ever going to work. If you can learn to recognise and work with your bodily sensations, you’ll begin to recognise what your trigger patterns are. Yoga, massage and acupuncture are helpful. You will love the tantrum book. Promise.

  3. yada yada yada going as fast as I can!!

The Tribe is Listening... Add Your Voice to the Conversation!

