Moving Away From The Collective

I’ve been re-watching Star Trek Voyager lately, so this has a deeper meaning for me right now.

When I started this blog I felt like I was moving into a place where I was going to be a more integral part of several groups: a neighborhood, a workplace, a church.

I felt like I wanted an online place to gather my thoughts, gather my friends, gather individual energies into a common space. A “tribe.”

But lately I’ve been wanting to journal privately again. Even though I feel really over it.

What would it mean to let go of this dream I’ve had to belong to a tight-knit group? What would it mean to just take things as they come, be alone if necessary, engage as appropriate, work the crowd or connect with a single soul as the opportunity presents itself?

Sometimes I feel young and old, wise and clueless, in the same instant.

2 responses to “Moving Away From The Collective

  1. Elena, I started this a few days in but it has bee really really good.there are a few days left of it, which you will be able to have a go with. Perhaps it will help you too.
    http://www.chopracentermeditation.com/Bestsellers/LandingPage.aspx?BookId=172

  2. Hey there! I’ve been reading your web site for a long time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Humble Tx! Just wanted to say keep up the good job!

The Tribe is Listening... Add Your Voice to the Conversation!

